Originators of UK closed road motorsport

John Easson Award Winner – Tour of Mull 2009

The 2300 Club is pleased to announce the winner of the 2009 John Easson Award:

Scotland’s Mark McCulloch has been chosen as the winner of this year’s prestigious award. The 22 years old Newton Stewart driver was the choice of the selection committee after very careful deliberation, which saw the attending finalists travel to Preston to take part in a one on one interview with the panel of judges.

L->R: Mark McCulloch (Winner), Allan Durham
(John Easson Award Scheme Manager), Sara Williams (Runner-up)

 Mark emerged as winner after a very close run contest with runner up Sara Williams. 20 yrs. old Sara from Brecon made a very determined challenge for the award.

Chairman of the judging panel, Tour of Mull Clerk of the Course, Clive Molyneux said, following the interviews. “This year the standard of applicants has been extremely high, choosing the finalists was in itself a very difficult job for the selection committee, but choosing a winner from the finalists was even more difficult, it is unfortunate that there could only be one winner, however we feel Mark will be a worthy recipient of the John Easson Award” and of course we wish runner up Sara the very best of luck with her continued rallying”.  

On behalf of 2300 Club we would like to thank all of this year’s applicants for taking part  and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Allan Durham
John Easson Award Scheme Manager

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *