Originators of UK closed road motorsport

The John Easson Scholarship 2006

A chance for young drivers to win a FREE Entry to the 2006 Tunnock’s Tour of Mull, plus £1,250 worth of expenses and rally driving tuition to the value of £3,000.

Latest Press release dated 24/05/06 with this years details

The 2300 Club, organisers of the legendary Tunnock’s Tour of Mull closed road tarmac rally, is proud to announce the details of the 2006 John Easson Scholarship for young rally drivers.

First run in 2004, the scholarship is named after rally driver John Easson, a regular competitor on the Isle of Mull and a generous supporter of the 2300 Club before tragically losing his life in an air accident in 1999.

The 2006 John Easson Scholarship winner will be awarded with a free entry to the always oversubscribed Tunnock’s Tour of Mull rally in October 2006, £1250 cash to be spent on expenses for the rally, and the trip of a lifetime to the world famous John Haugland Rally School on a frozen lake in Norway next winter. The Norway trip (date to be confirmed) will include 4 days of tuition on advanced rally driving technique from John and his expert team, worth over £3000.

Scholarship Manager Dave Bateson, a successful driver himself in one make championships, knows the value of a trip to Mull for a young driver:

“The Tunnock’s Tour of Mull is one of the toughest rallies in the UK and any young driver would benefit from completing the event; it is an excellent addition to a rally driver’s CV. We hope to receive entries from all the one make championships, the recently selected MSA crews and single venue competitors alike. Anyone can win this award with a little effort put into their application.”

The scholarship is free to enter and open to all drivers who fit the following criteria:

  • Age under 25 on October 13th 2006, the first day of the 2006 Tunnock’s Tour of Mull
  • Resident in the British Isles, including Northern and Southern Ireland
  • Entry received by 2300 Club by 1st July 2006

Drivers who wish to enter should send the following details as a minimum to the scholarship manager:

  • A current motorsport CV outlining experience and results to date
  • A covering letter explaining why the panel should select them as winner and their aims for their future in rallying
  • A reference letter from any 3rd party

Entry presentations can be as inventive and detailed as a driver wants to make them; the above criteria are a minimum and we always look forward to receiving some interesting presentations!

Entries should be sent to the John Easson Scholarship Manager, Dave Bateson, via Email or post, at the contacts below:

Email: daveb@2300club.org


John Easson Scholarship
Dave Bateson
58 Gisburn Road

The winner will be notified by telephone in July with the results released to the national motorsport press.

Previous winners:

2005: Stevie Brown, from Aberdeen. Stevie had limited experience of rallying with only a few events under his belt, but showed in his application a level of professionalism rarely seen in an 18 year old. He retired form the event with a broken alternator, but returned to complete the Trophy Rally 3rd in class and 9th overall.

2004: George Collister, from the Isle of Man. George had some highly relevant experience of the closed roads of the Isle of Man, but still described Mull’s roads as: “Like Druidale on steroids!” A resounding recommendation if ever one was needed!


Further information:
The John Easson Scholarship Manager, Dave Bateson
Email: daveb@2300club.org
Phone: 07968 349779

Press release issued on behalf of 2300 Club, The John Easson Scholarship and the Tunnock’s Tour of Mull rally by Andrew Coley at APCsport.com
Email: Andrew@APCsport.com
Phone: 07866 635741

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *