Originators of UK closed road motorsport

Winner of the 2016 John Easson Award

 2300 Club 2016 John Easson Award

2300 Club are pleased to announce the winner of the 2016 John Easson Award.

Bingley rally driver Sam Bilham has been chosen as the winner of this year’s prestigious award which is worth a total prize fund of £5,000.

The 20 year old was the choice of the judges after very careful deliberation, which saw the three finalists travel to Preston to take part in interviews with the panel of judges.

Sam emerged as winner after a very close run contest with fellow finalists, George Lepley and Meirion Evans

This year the judges, co-driver “legend” – Ian Grindrod.  Motorsport News Rally Journalist Jack Benyon,, Bury rally driver John Cope and guest judge 2015 JEA winner Matthew Jackson faced a very difficult task in choosing the winner, Judges chairman John said, It is unfortunate that there can only be one winner, however we feel Sam will be a worthy recipient of the John Easson Award and of course we wish runners up George and Meirion the very best of luck with their continued rallying”.

2300 Club would like to thank all candidates who applied for this year’s award.

Allan Durham
2300 Club John Easson Award Scheme Manager


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *