Originators of UK closed road motorsport

Entries are now being taken for The John Easson Award

2300 Club presents:
The John Easson Award 2021

The 2300 Club is proud to announce the details of the 2021 John Easson Award for young rally drivers and more recently, co-drivers.

First run in 2004, the Award is named after rally driver John Easson, a regular rally competitor and a generous supporter of the 2300 Club before tragically losing his life in an air accident in 1999.

For 2021, the John Easson Award will once again continue the successful format of assisting a young British competitor with financial support, and maintain its place as the UK’s number one free-to-enter cash prize rally Award.

The award is open to drivers co- drivers. Individuals from all disciplines of rallying are eligible to enter, and a junior driver / co-driver has just has much chance of being chosen for the award as an experienced competitor.

The prize is as always fantastic; £5,000 cash to the selected applicant. And once again for this year we are offering an extra bonus payment of £1,000 if the driver or co-driver wins the overall class award on the championship they have taken part in during the 2022 season.

The prize fund will be allocated in stage payments to pay entry fees for a selection of rallies the winning applicant takes part in during the 2022 season, which the committee feel will help ease the financial burden placed on a young driver/ co driver during their rally season. And if successful in securing the bonus prize of £1,000 this will be a huge help in kick starting their 2023 rally season.

The final selection process will see the top three applicants for the award being invited to an informal interview with a panel of judges who will decide the overall John Easson Award winner.

The JEA is huge reward for only a little effort, free to enter and open to all drivers / co drivers who fit the following criteria:

• Age under 25 on the 31 October 2021, Resident in the British Isles, including Northern Ireland, Isle of Man, Channel Islands
• Holder of a MSUK competition Licence.
• Entries open on the 1st September 2021 and close at midnight on the 31 October 2021

Drivers who wish to enter should send the following details as a minimum to the Award scheme manager:

• A current motorsport CV outlining experience and results to date
• A covering letter explaining why the panel should select them as winner and their aims for their future in rallying
• A reference letter from any 3rd party

Entry presentations can be as inventive and detailed as an applicant wants to make them; the above criteria are a minimum and we always look forward to receiving some interesting presentations!
And of course applications from previous applicants are always welcomed, (it should be noted many of our winners have been previous applicants).

Entries should be sent to the John Easson Award Manager, John Cope at the details below:

John Easson Award
John Cope
The Meadows
15 Owlerbarrow Road

Previous JEA winners:

2004: George Collister, Isle of Man
2005: Stevie Brown, Scotland
2006: Ryan Borthwick, Scotland
2007: Alick Kerr, Scotland
2008: Philip Scholes, England
2009: Mark McCulloch, Scotland
2010: Sara Williams, Wales
2011: Osian Pryce, Wales
2012: Matt Griffin, England
2013: Chris Ingram, England
2014: Aaron McClure, England
2015: Matthew Jackson, England
2016: Sam Bilham, England
2017: Tommi Meadows, England
2018: George Lepley, England
2019:Ewan Tindall, England
2020 No award due to covid restrictions

For further information:
Email: jcope4@icloud.com

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *