Originators of UK closed road motorsport

Winner of the 2012 John Easson Award

The 2300 Club are pleased to announce the winner of the 2012 John Easson Award.

Blackburn driver Matt Griffin has been chosen as the winner of this year’s prestigious award which is worth a total prize fund of £4,000.

The 22 year old was the choice of the judges after very careful deliberation, which saw the three finalists travel to Preston to take part in interviews with the panel of judges.

Matt emerged as the winner after a very close run contest with fellow finalists Garry Pearson and Chis Ingram

This year the judges were Bury rally driver John Cope  co driver “legend” – Ian Grindrod, former international co driver and boss of Motordrive Seats Allan Whittaker, and former Tour of Mull Clerk of the Course Clive  Molyneux.

Clive said afterwards, “It is unfortunate that there can only be one winner, as all three finalists showed a tremendous enthusiasm and demonstrated a huge talent for their chosen sport of rallying, however after long and careful deliberation we chose  Matt, and we feel he will be a worthy recipient of the John Easson Award, and of course we wish runners-up Garry & Chris the very best of luck and success with their continued rallying”.

2300 Club would like to thank all candidates who applied for this year’s award.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *